New Project: Game Face

This is my first ongoing project, and to keep it simple, it will be a family project of sorts.

My brother is a HUGE BMX fan.  I mean he goes to work, comes home, rides his bike.  And he’s pretty good.  I figured getting some good shots would help us both.  I could add to my portfolio/experience and he would get some pictures to use for promotions etc…  It’s also a good way for me to combine two of my favorite things in photography: action and off camera lighting.

Here’s the setup for the first few pictures.  Canon 430EXII, half power through the umbrella.  Exposure was 1/250s, f/4.0, ISO 200.  You can see my custom battery pack for the speedlight dangling off the umbrella.Image:

That yielded this:

Next I moved the light to camera left and extended the light stand to its full 7 feet.  Here’s my favorite from that sequence.

You can find more pics from this first shoot here:

Game Face: A BMX Project

I’ll be adding more pictures as the project progresses.  The park has a few ramps, so we’ll be able to get some more dramatic aerial shots.

Leave a Reply

